Iron Maiden Beer: Robinsons Trooper

When I saw this one in my favourite beer store, I just knew I have to make it a part of my collection (the entire collection can be seen on the FB page Beer Bottles Collection). I’m not really a fan of Iron Maiden, although they are pretty OK, but I’m a fan of beer, so I wanted to see if the bands singer is really capable of producing a decent ale. Plus, it’s got an awesome label, so that+s also cool.

  • Name: Robinsons Trooper
  • Brewery: Robinsons
  • City: Stockport
  • Country: England

Robinsons Trooper

First things first, the appearance. The glass was filled with copper colored liquid, topped with a fairly small (avergae) white head, that settled down relatively quick. The aroma was very nice – malty and very sweet. At first I expected the taste to follow this sweetness, but luckily it didn’t. The taste was just awesome. If this wasn’t one of the best ales I have tried, I don’t know what then. It started with a mild hoppy kick, followed by a generously bitter, and slightly yeasty body. The finish was bitter and hoppy, but still light enough to really fit my sytle.

It was extremelly easy to drink and I felt like I could have another one right then. The only bad side was that it hadn’t given me that refreshing feel. But this doesn’t really matter if you drink it just for pleasure next to some good food, and keep some other beers for refreshment. For a persons who didn’t really care much about ales sometime ago, this next sentence is a big thing. Trooper is one hell of a good ale. Would definitely give it another try.

  • Style: Premium Bitter / ESB
  • ABV: 4,7%
  • Ingredients: water, barley malt, hops

RATINGSENG

  • Appearance: 4 / 5
  • Smell: 4 / 5
  • Taste: 4 / 5
  • Overall: 4 / 5
  • Bottle: 4,5 / 5

5 thoughts on “Iron Maiden Beer: Robinsons Trooper

  1. Now I regret not picking up a bottle of that! Oh well… I will put it on my wish list…

  2. tried draft, it’s a pretty good beer indeed!

  3. Pingback: Beer COOLection | Page not found

  4. Pingback: Beer COOLection | Chocolatey Beer – Old Tom With Chocolate

  5. I have 9 bottles of Trooper ale if anyone wants to buy them. I loose bottle and 8 packaged in an unopend case.

Leave a comment